Another blog about bugs.

I feel like the insects at Custer State Park read my bug-killing blog and it made them mad.

This morning I woke up with not one, but two new mosquito bites of unknown origin. I’ve stopped leaving my window open and I couldn’t hear them when I laid there in the quiet of the night, so I can’t explain it.

While I was taking pictures of people having fun in the sun at Angostura Reservoir, I relized they have a fire ant problem. They’re everywhere. I saw the majority of them in the sandy areas near the beach – I don’t know much about insect habitats and lifestyles, but these guys were huge red ants that I would not want crawling near me. I’ll admit that I’m probably exaggerating a little; I actually just saw a few here and there, but they were big enough to leave an impression.

Then, to top it all off, as I walked into the office after shooting some photos today, I looked down at the pavement to see what I thought was a half-crushed bee dragging itself along the pavement. As I was about to put him out of his misery with the bottom of my shoe, I realized that it was in fact a giant black ant carrying a dead bee’s body home to feed his family.

It was as if the ant was saying, “Look how much I can lift. Look how much I’ve bulked up. Next time, I come for you.”

Leave a Reply

