You know you’re in Custer State Park when it’s sunny, hailing, about to tornado, and perfect golfing weather all at the same time.

I know weather is a boring, safe topic, but it is absolute insanity here.

It’s like the park itself as a whole resides within a desert, a forest, a mountain range, a rain forest, and a swamp. Regardless of what the forecast says, one minute it can be sunny and beautiful and the next it can thunderstorm – and sometimes it does both of those things at the same time.

This morning at 8 a.m., it was warm and mildly breezy. When I pulled into Sylvan Lake at about 9:30 a.m., it was downright hot. Then, at noon, some clouds rolled in and before I knew it, there was thunder booming in the air around me as I walked back to the office from lunch.

And speaking of booming, there has been lightning in the sky every single night. It hasn’t even rained that much and the sky has been clear of clouds, but there has still been lightning that cracks across the sky periodically.

It’s strange and apocalyptic and I don’t like it one bit.

I went into my downstairs office with no windows not that long ago, but I’m sure the weather has changed since last I looked. For all I know it could be raining Care Bears out there.

The bears, sir.  The bears...are falling from the sky! And they're fluffy!

The bears, sir. The bears…are falling from the sky! And they’re fluffy!

4 thoughts on “You know you’re in Custer State Park when it’s sunny, hailing, about to tornado, and perfect golfing weather all at the same time.

  1. A care bear rainstorm would be a nice change of pace. Sounds like Custer National Park is a very interesting place. Where is it in the U.S.(I’m assuming its here because of the name Custer)?

  2. We just drove back from Angostora Reservoir a few minutes ago.. It was hot down there.. then the clouds rolled in so we got off the lake.. headed back towards Keystone area and ran smack dab into a hail storm. Dented up my truck 😦 … Guess it’s hail season again too!

Leave a Reply

