We have Internet! Everything will be alright now!

This might blow some peoples’ minds, but it has kind of been nice not having Internet or decent cell reception at the dorms. As of yesterday, we officially have functioning WiFi, and while you might think this is great, I’m skeptical

For instance, Cody and I usually sit outside and talk if we have the same lunch break. The day the internet was installed, we sat in our respective buildings, didn’t speak, and Internet-ed. (Yes, I’m making that a verb.)

I don't doubt that this has actually happened.

I don’t doubt that this has actually happened.

I don’t like that one bit. There has been a lot of discussion as to whether the Internet is actually tearing us all apart while only appearing to bring us together. For instance, I’m still in touch with a lot of people I went to high school with that I wouldn’t be without Facebook, but at the same time, Cody and I didn’t speak over lunch yesterday.

I acknowledge that being in constant communication with each other through texting and the Internet is making us all worse at communicating in person; I had just never seen it happen this fast before. It’s freaking me out. There’s a test you can take to find out if you’re an Internet addict, but you take it ON THE INTERNET. It’s too ironic.

On the other hand, Kori spent quite a while last night using the new Internet connection to read this blog – so that was super flattering. I also went online and bought a couple things I needed (kind of…maybe I just wanted them, but so what?) Silver linings – like I always say, they’re important.

One thought on “We have Internet! Everything will be alright now!

  1. Pingback: Mothers……………………………………………. – slimegreen

Leave a Reply

