Tattoo Fever

I’ve always wanted to get a tattoo.

I don’t mean this in a flippant way either – I would never get a butterfly or a unicorn just to get a butterfly or a unicorn. I want a tattoo with a lot of thought put into it. I want it to be thought provoking as well as personal. In other words, I’m picky.

A lot of my friends have tattoos. My best friends from high school have cupcakes, tigers, music notes…you name it. I even know a girl with a small flying squirrel smack dab on her rear end. The seasonal employees I live with at the park have them too; one girl has the word ‘sunshine’ running down her side in block letters. Another has a star with a bible verse on her back and the word ‘compassion in cursive on her wrist.’

And speaking of wrist, I really like that spot for a tattoo. The thing is I was always warned that if you ever got a visible tattoo, you would never get a job. I’ve since learned that that is entirely untrue, especially in my chosen field. I’m not working with children, I’ll never be a cop, and I’m not going to be a doctor. In almost every other field, the stigma attached to visible tattoos is nonexistent. I also like the idea of getting a sentence or line of music running along the inside of the arch of my foot, which would be easy to conceal.

I’ve had countless chances to get inked. My friends got them on Hollywood Boulevard in California, and I held out. My step-mom offered to pay for me to get one in Mexico, but I still held out. One of the girls I work with just went into Rapid City after work one day last week and got one, and while I know I could do that, I’ve held out.

The truth is, I don’t know what I want. I really like a line or two from the poem ‘Pioneers! O Pioneers!’ by Walt Whitman, but I also really like Robert Frost’s ‘Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening.’ A friend and I have joked about getting a heartbeat monitor line to pay homage to a stupid song we always used to dance to; we just don’t know where to put it on our bodies. ‘The Highway Man’ also holds a special place in my secretly-romantic heart, but I just don’t know…I just don’t know. Or maybe I should just go get a buffalo tattooed on me to commemorate the summer, but in the back of my mind I know that’s stupid.

So I suppose I’ll wait it out until the moment is right.

One thought on “Tattoo Fever

  1. A tattoo will always raise two questions…Why did you pick that for a tattoo and what is the message that you are sending with the tattoo. If the tat is located somewhere that is easily seen then I assure you it means decades of the same Q!. Also tats fade in color and quality over time. Finally your skin elasticity changes as the decades pass. All good reasons to pick your location carefully. Check out the old Sturgis rally riders that show up for examples of skin wear and faded tattoos on the arms, that you cannot figure out what they used to be!
    There are good reasons why careful people kind of hide the location of the tat. Not every message in life needs to be broadcast down your arm, leg, or face..

Leave a Reply

