Doe, a deer, a couple of deer…

Deer are some of the most beautifully pensive and dopey creatures on this planet. They’re delicate and yet speedy things that just stand there looking like they’re wondering, “Did I leave the stove on?”

“I know I left the stove on.”

“I should go home and turn it off…JESUS CHRIST IN HEAVEN, A CAR!”

And then they dash off the road. Because they’re kind of dopey.

Lately, there have been two such creatures who like to hang out on the trail I walk to work on. The first time I saw them, I thought they were dogs off their leashes and I immediately concocted a plan to steal them and make them my best friends. Upon realizing that the two large brownish things in the path were in fact deer, I stopped to grab a photo.

Dear, I really do think you left the oven on.

Dear, I really do think you left the oven on.


And then the same thing happened the next day.
I suppose I'll move.

I suppose I’ll move.


And the next.
Oh man, it's that lady with the camera again. She's not even getting my good side.

Oh man, it’s that lady with the camera again. She’s not even getting my good side.


They’re always casually grazing near the path, which is also pretty close to the main road that runs through the park. As a result, they’re constantly on edge when trucks and motorcycles whiz by and make a loud “Vroooom!” sound. I think it’s because I’m really quiet compared to the loud vehicles, but when they encounter me, and don’t blink an eye. I’ve managed to get pretty close to them – about seven or ten yards – and I’m hoping against all odds that one day I’ll get close enough to pet one.

I know that’s stupid, but seriously, how many people get close enough to wild deer to touch them? I feel so lucky to have this job.

5 thoughts on “Doe, a deer, a couple of deer…

  1. Pingback: Walking to work | The Buffalo Diaries

  2. Pingback: The Buffalo Diaries

  3. Pingback: Doe, A Deer | Mlissabeth's Musings

  4. Pingback: We’re all just a bunch of buffalo. | The Buffalo Diaries

Leave a Reply

