Living Down Under

Let’s talk about my office.

I absolutely love that one of the seasonal volunteers coined it “Australia” because it’s “Down Under.”

You’ll see.

The guy who showed me to my office immediately got this sad, apologetic look on his face when he realized who I was.

“It’s in the basement,” he said as he led me down a twisted, skinny hallway.

That’s fine. I don’t mind basements.

That’s when we turned a corner and were met with a dark, descending set of skinny stairs. I was still on board because, hey, I got a freaking office! But the guy showing me the place appeared to be getting more and more uncomfortable.

“You don’t have to spend all your time down here,” he said. “The laptop can pick up Wi-Fi all over the building, so you can come upstairs whenever you want.”

When we reached the bottom of the stairs, I realized that I was standing next to an old bank vault door that proudly read “Cottonwood State Bank.” For a terrifying second, I thought my office was going to be in an old bank vault, but thankfully he opened the door opposite it.

“I’m sorry,” was all he said.

But I didn’t know why. I have an office, and that’s really exciting for a 20-something college student. Granted, it’s dark, cold, and has no windows. I’ve also been told that its former inhabitant was a hoarder, which is apparent by the amount of paper bits and rubber bands scattered around on the dirty carpet. Its most endearing feature is the mouse trap in the corner; it’s not loaded with anything and has been obviously set off by something.

But I have an office! Cool, right?

I have to say that my bosses have been really nice and said that I’m free to roam wherever I want to work and that I don’t have to stay “Down Under,” but to be honest, I kind of like it down here. I’ve always been a cave-dweller of sorts – my bedroom growing up was in a basement with no windows and I always have a tendency to sit in chairs that reside in corners so that I have walls to my back.

In a way, this office makes this job even better. It’s like they knew me before I even showed up for my first day.

Now, I suppose I should reset the mouse trap…

3 thoughts on “Living Down Under

  1. Pingback: Outsmarted by an inanimate object…again. | The Buffalo Diaries

  2. Pingback: Bulletin Board Drama | The Buffalo Diaries

  3. Pingback: Bats; they’re a problem. | The Buffalo Diaries

Leave a Reply

